paranormal investigations logo

Paranormal Investigations at the Old Nick

The Old Nick Theatre in Gainsborough is a fascinating and at times frightening place for an overnight ghost hunt. With more than 25 documented deaths on this site between 1860 and 1935, including two suicides and the multitude of rooms, corridors and cells to investigate, this is a foreboding and sinister place.

Ghost hunts at the Old Nick Theatre have seen some shocking poltergeist activity and people have fled in fear rather than spend time alone in any of the cells. Join us for what was once the arena of justice for Gainsborough and the surrounding area for a unique ghost hunt that will excite and terrify even the most experienced paranormal investigator.

*** Phone 0743 4540 516 for available dates ***

We host vigils to suit everyone, from short sessions of five hours through to fifteen and a half  hours all-nighters. Fees are from 25 pounds per person dependant on date and the vigil duration. Full details of our terms and conditions are on our Hire page

History of the Old Nick   
As you may imagine from its name, The Old Nick was the original police station in Gainsborough. It is an Italianate-style Grade II building at the junction of Spring Gardens and Cross Street - just past the vehicular access to Marshall's Yard. Back in 1850 the land on this site was sold to enable the building of a dedicated Magistrates' Court and Police Station to replace the original Watch House. This building was situated on the site now occupied by the MacDonald's restaurant, a stone plaque in the side of the restaurant building records the former  presence of the Watch House. 

The Police station was the Divisional Headquarters of the North Lincolnshire police until 1972 when the new police station on Morton Terrace was built followed by the new Magistrates' Court on Church Street in 1978. Mr Douglas Parkinson purchased both of the old buildings in 1978 for £3,250 and in 1980 (the important date for the group) he told the members they could use the premises for rehearsals at a peppercorn rent. 

When Mr Parkinson died in 1992 he bequeathed the property to the Gainsborough Theatre Group and then the physical hard work began for them all. Piles of rubbish had to be cleared from many of the inside rooms, the outside stores and around the building itself in order to make it all presentable. This took a lot of time, hard work, sweat and tears for the dedicated members of the group. We have during the period of  three Covid lock-downs transformed the ground floor by restoring each of the rooms back to how they were during the Victorian period.  The male and female cells have had the beds removed and replaced with the hard wooden slab beds which are exact copies of the original ones.